Joint Community Volunteer Service Awards Committee

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.  Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

View JVAC Bylaws

Email City Council

Email JVAC

Los Altos Hills Members

Council Liaison: Linda Swan

  • Donald Mattson, Chair
    Term Expires: March 2023
  • Jennifer Duarte
    Term Expires: March 2023
  • Kelly Davis
    Term Expires: March 2023
  • Sandy Mingia
    Term Expires: March 2023
  • Lakshimi Ramgopal
    Term Expires: March 2025

Associate Member: Ben Gikis

Los Altos Members

Council Liaison: Anita Enander

  • Cheryl Caligaris 
    Term Expires: March 2023
  • Rebecca Lowell
    Term Expires: March 2025
  • Laurel Iverson
    Term Expires: March 2023
  • Dhana Pawar
    Term Expires: March 2021
  • Dennis Young
    Term Expires: March 2023
Joint Community Volunteer Service Awards Committee Logo

There shall be up to 12 members of the Committee, each appointed for a 4-year term. Each City shall appoint one of its council members and 5 additional members. Cities are encouraged to make the appointments by January for any vacancies, and to make appointments in such a way that the terms stagger for 2 years. (Consequently, initial appointments or re-appointments after adoption of these Bylaws may be for less than four year terms.) In selecting appointees, preference shall be given to prior awardees.

Charges & Duties

The Committee is organized jointly by the City of Los Altos and the Town of Los Altos Hills as a non-profit effort to recognize volunteers who have benefited these two communities. The recognition is during an annual luncheon (the "Recognition Luncheon") generally held during the first Friday of each December, for which tickets are sold to the public.

The Committee is charged to seek and request applications from various organizations and persons for nominations for the potential awardees, select the awardees to be recognized, organize the Recognition Luncheon, and to present the awards at the Recognition Luncheon.

updated: 6/8/2022